Ubuntu 10.04 was released last year but it’s still popular among most of the Linux users because of its eye catchy look. Moreover its a LTS release. First thing I noticed when I installed the distro was the missing network applet (bug) . Because of that I was unable to connect to the wireless network. I posted the same in the ubuntu forums community and figured a way out. I posted the solution over there  and it got great response in return too. It got 25,000+ views over there in the forums. Link for the same is http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1469625 . So I thought of sharing it over my blog too . Just follow the steps below and missing network applet will appear on your screen after reboot :

1. In the terminal type  “sudo gedit /etc/NetworkManager/nm-system-settings.conf” (without quotes)
2.Change the “managed=false” to “managed=true” and then save it.
3. Then in the terminal type “sudo killall nm-system-settings”
4. Reboot your system
This solution worked for me :)

Pages : Follow ankurtwi on Twitter